Become a Realtor
A general guide on how to become a Realtor in Texas.
1. To be eligible to apply for a real estate Salesperson License, an individual must be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien, eighteen (18) years of age or older and a legal resident of Texas.
2. An individual who wishes to apply for a real estate Salesperson License must complete the necessary education courses, and provide proof of completion to the Texas Real Estate Commission. To be eligible the Commission requires satisfactory evidence of successfully completing the following education:
3. Once you have completed the necessary courses, you must submit a "Request for Evaluation of Education Documents". You can obtain the necessary form on the TREC website. A fee of $20.00 is required for the evaluation of education documents for the purpose of determining if education requirements have been satisfied. This fee is good for one year.
Evidence of successful completion, such as credit transcript or certificate, along with the "Request for Evaluation" form, should be mailed to the commission for verifications before filing a Salesperson License Application form. Unless specified, NEVER send original copies of transcripts and/or course completion certificates. The originals are for your personal files, send photocopies to the Commission.
4. Once you receive a letter from the Commission attesting to satisfaction of all education, you are then eligible to apply for a real estate Salesperson License. There is a fee of $79.50 to apply, which includes a $10.00 fee for the Recovery Trust Account (formerly Recovery Fund).
The filing of an application authorizes an investigation of the applicant's background. Information found in an investigation may be cause for disapproval of an application even if all other requirements for a license are met. If an investigation is necessary, it may not be conducted until the applicant has passed the examination.
State law prohibits issuing more than one license once a licensee has defaulted on a student loan guaranteed by the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation (TGSLC) unless the licensee has entered into a repayment agreement with TGSLC. You should contact TGSLC before filing this application if you have defaulted on a student loan. An application or renewal may be rejected if this agency has received information from TGSLC that the applicant has defaulted on a student loan. The Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation can be contacted at: 1-800-222-6297.
5. The Texas Salesperson licensing test is administered by PSI, a testing service company. Once you have succesfully filed and received acceptance of your application by the commission, you will receive notification on how to obtain your CIB, or Candidate Information Brochure. This will provide study materials and instructions on how to reserve a time to take the test. The examination must be passed within six months from the date the application is filed with the commission office.
6. You cannot practice as a licensed salesperson until you have a sponsoring broker to hang your license with. A sponsorship request form is included in your application materials. It is a good idea to arrange for a broker to hold your license early on. There are many options - choose wisely. The first sponsorship request is free, however if you decided to change brokers, the license transfer fee is $20.00 each time you transfer. You are not authorized to perform any act for which a real estate license is required until an ACTIVE Texas Real Estate Commission license is in the possession of your sponsoring broker.